30 March 2015
 A to Z
 Elected Members
 Local Government Reform - New Council
 Council Minutes
 Online Dog Licensing
 Corporate Plan
 News Archive
 Community Services
 Waste Management
 Leisure & Tourism
 Policing & Community Safety Partnership
 Emergency Planning
 Sports Development
 EU Services Directive Information Packs
 Births, Deaths & Marriages
 Freedom of Information
 Contact Us
Food Hygiene Rating Scheme
You are here >> Home >>Election 2011

Local Government Election 2014

For a copy of the Return of Candidate spending form please click here.

For a copy of the seven DEA Electronic Counts please click here.

For a copy of the LE31 - Local Council Election 2014 - Notice of Results of Election please click here.

Local Government Election 22 May 2014

Under Local Government Reform, parts of Lisburn City Council and Castlereagh Borough Council will merge to form a new Council, one of eleven being created across Northern Ireland. The current council areas will lose 38% of the existing population base in Castlereagh and 21% in Lisburn to an expanded Belfast City Council. For further details on Local Government Reform, including boundary maps click on Local Government Reform

Local Government Elections for the new councils will be held on Thursday 22nd May 2014, the same day as the European Parliamentary Elections. The new Lisburn City and Castlereagh District Council will have 40 Elected Members and the new Belfast City Council will have 60 Elected Members.

The new councils will operate in a Shadow form until 31st March 2015

NoticeofElection.pdf Local Council Election District of Lisburn City and Castlereagh Notice of Election of Councillors

Statement of Persons Nominated and Notice of Poll

CastlereaghE.pdf Castlereagh East

CastlereaghS.pdf Castlereagh South

DownshireE.pdf Downshire East

DownshireW.pdf Downshire West

Killultagh.pdf Killultagh

LisburnN.pdf Lisburn North

LisburnS.pdf Lisburn South

Election Timetable for Candidates

Timetable.pdf Election Timetable for Candidates

AbsentVote.pdf Temporary Absent Vote Form

AOA.pdf Area Electoral Office Addresses

Information Relating to Agents

Appointment.pdf Local Council Appointment of Polling Agents

PostalVoteAgents.pdf Local Council Appointment of Postal Vote Agents

ElectionAgent.pdf Local Council Notification of Election Agent

CountingAgents.pdf Local Council Appointment of Counting Agents

VerificationAgents.pdf Local Council Appointment of Verification Agents

Information Relating to Candidates

Nomination papers, which can be downloaded, are to be delivered to the Deputy Returning Officer at Lagan Valley Island, Lisburn, between the hours of 10.00 am – 4.00 pm from Tue 15 April to Mon 28 April (excluding weekends, Good Friday and Easter Monday), or on Tue 29 Apr between the hours of 10.00 am – 1.00 pm. The dates and times are stated on the Election Timetable.

Nominations cannot be accepted outside of these dates and times. The responsibility for ensuring that all the required paperwork is submitted rests with candidates.

Nominations cannot be accepted if any of the required forms are missing or not completed correctly. Guidance on the required forms and their completion is contained within the Guide for Candidates, which is available on EONI’s website.
Given the increased size of the new Council’s area and the potential large number of candidates, it is suggested that individuals/party groups make an appointment for the submission of their papers to avoid being unduly delayed in a queue. Appointments can be made on 02892 509258, on a ‘first come, first served basis’. Candidates may submit their papers without making an appointment, but may be required to wait if other candidates’ nominations are being processed.

Related Documents

Campaign.pdf Important Information about your Election Campaign

Checklist.pdf Local Council Candidate Checklist

Consent.pdf Local Council Consent to Nomination

AVListRequest.pdf Local Council Electoral Register AV List Request

NominationPaper.pdf Local Council Nomination Paper

Emblem.pdf Local Council Request to use Party Description - Emblem

Secrecy.pdf Local Council Requirement of Secrecy

LE41B.pdf Local Council Limit of Candidate Expenses

NominationPack.pdf Local Council Contents of Nomination Pack

labels.pdf Local Council Instruction for Creating Labels from a Register CD

LimitExpenses.pdf Limit of Candidate's Expenses Form

CCInfoPack.pdf Count Centre Information Pack

PVTimeTable.pdf Postal Votes Timetable


Castlereagh Borough Council, Civic and Administrative Offices, 1 Bradford Court, Upper Galwally, Belfast BT8 6RB
Tel: 028 90 494500 Fax: 028 90 494515 Email: council@castlereagh.gov.uk
This page was last updated on Wednesday, 4 June, 2014 9:41 AM